Thick as Fog in the VeloKitchen

pea soup

Fall has arrived in the Pacific Northwest which means rain, showers, drizzle, … I’ve heard that Native Americans in this area have 100’s of different words for the drippy stuff that falls on us pretty much constantly from October through April. I usually garage my bike for the season and opt for other exercise since I don’t like to be cold and wet. My husband is a year-round rider. Me? I prefer to buy my winter clothes at Nordstrom rather than Performance Bike.

This recipe is for a hearty split pea soup. I make it after my cycling season ends because it’s no fun being the stoker on a tandem bike after the bike captain eats this meal! I prefer not to puree the veggies for this recipe, so I chop them in small pieces before cooking. If you prefer a pureed soup or a vegetarian version, leave out the chopped ham and remove the ham hocks before putting the soup in your blender. This soup can be cooked in a slow-cooker or in a dutch oven. Both methods turn out a tasty meal. Enjoy!

Split Pea & Ham Hock Soup
Serves 8 (nice for leftovers)

2 cups dried split peas
2-4 ham hocks
1 lb. of ham, cubed
3 chopped leeks (use the white & green bits)
2 cups chopped carrots
2 cups chopped celery
2 bay leaves
Thyme – 3 tsp fresh or 2 tsp dried
1 tsp cracked black pepper
dash of cayenne pepper
4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
6 cups water

1. I always forget to soak beans the night before so I quick-soak them by covering with cold water, bringing to a boil and letting sit for 1 hour.
2. Combine all ingredients. Slow-cook at low 8 hours or high 4 hours.

©2009 Cycling_Chef’s Velokitchen is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. All Rights Reserved.

2 Responses to Thick as Fog in the VeloKitchen

  1. Love Split Pea soup! Will have to give this one a try! Thanks for the great Blog with bicycling and cooking! I will follow you on FB as well!

  2. LakewoodKiwi says:

    It’s not much fun for Squirty on the ride-a-long behind the tandem after the Stoker has had this meal either. We would certainly fly with the added turbo injection! 😉

Leave a Reply

