Slow-cooked Korean-style Ribs in the VeloKitchen

Long ago I established a “no appliance” rule for birthday and Christmas gifts. Since we eat at home most days and we cook from scratch, I consider kitchen accessories as “necessities.” Luckily, my husband agrees so when I decided to replace our old crockpot with a new model, I researched products, read reviews and chose the All-Clad Stainless Steel 6-1/2 quart slow cooker with a ceramic insert. Even though the All-Clad is more pricey than other products, I feel I made a wise long-term purchase since this is a product I foresee I will use often. Calling it a “slow cooker” instead of a “crockpot” helped me justify the extra expense, too. With this huge and shiny new toy on my kitchen counter, I decided I must get away from my old crockpot recipes, which to me, taste like the same old casserole. I am trying other cuisines in my slow cooker and they are turning out successfully.

Ribs (2)We are big fans of take-out Korean-style beef short ribs, and inspired by a Twitter friend I decided to try them in my new slow cooker. After reading a few recipes, I prepared the ribs as below. Below is the recipe and a few preparation tips.

Slow Cooked Korean-style Beef Short Ribs

Serves 4

3 lbs. beef chuck short ribs with bones, thin sliced

1. Stir together in a large glass measuring cup:
    1 cup orange juice
    1/2 cup low-sodium soy sauce
    2 tablespoons sesame oil
    2 tablespoons honey (or brown sugar)
    2 teaspoons rice vinegar
    1 tablespoon minced gingerroot
    1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
    5 garlic cloves, finely minced
    12 scallions, (include white and part of the green leaves) finely chopped

2. Pour about 1/2 cup of sauce into the bottom of the slow cooker. Layer the ribs and massage sauce into each rib. I don’t like to touch raw meat, so I use gloves. Pour a small amount of the remaining sauce over each layer.

3. Slow cook for 6-8 hours.

Tips:
– When pressed for time, (and who isn’t?), I use chopped gingerroot from a jar instead of peeling and grating fresh gingerroot. The flavor from a jar is a bit milder, but a good substitute.
– My garlic press is one of my most important kitchen tools. I rarely mince or slice garlic with a knife to save time and to ensure the garlic pieces in my dish are small enough.
– Slow cooking the meat, (chicken could be substituted for beef in this recipe), replaces the need for marinating in advance since the slow cooking process infuses the meat with the spices and other flavors.
– The meat was very tender after cooking for eight hours and fell off the bone. The next time I will use a spatula instead of tongs to serve to try to keep the ribs together.

Serving suggestions: Steamed rice and Sauteed Red Swiss Chard with Garlic, recipe link: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Sauteed-Red-Swiss-Chard-with-Garlic-13423

The next meal I am planning for my slow cooker is a Moroccan Lamb Tagine. Stand by for the blog post!

©2009 Cycling_Chef’s Velokitchen is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. All Rights Reserved.

7 Responses to Slow-cooked Korean-style Ribs in the VeloKitchen

  1. Bryony says:

    Checked with my butcher and they can do beef ribs: there’s not much call for them but if I request them they’ll save some up for me. However, we’re going for a Korean meal soon (we live very close to the largest Korean community outside Korea) so will definitely try them there first!

  2. Lorette says:

    This sounds delicious! You might like the cookbook we got when we got our slow cooker last year. It’s called Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook. It has some really good recipes.

  3. runnergrl says:

    i’ve never tried bottled ginger – will do so now and i can’t stand touching raw meat and use tongs as well.

    i can’t wait for the tagine recipe!

    love the recipes!

    • Cycling_Chef says:

      I have a big box of disposable latex gloves under my sink in my kitchen and use them whenever I have to touch raw meat. I wish I could be more like Julia!

  4. christine says:

    I love it! This recipe sounds delicious! I have a huge Costco slow cooker and am always looking for better recipes. Some of them are just too Betty Crocker whitebread. I may have to try this one out.

Leave a Reply

